Trekenning Tourist Park









This site does not currently take bookings here on Pitchup.com.
If you are the owner of this site, start taking bookings through Pitchup.com.
It's free, quick and easy!
- Family-run, family-friendly site less than five miles from Newquay
- A 20-minute drive from Padstow; tourist discount vouchers for guests
- Cosy, traditional bar with a conservatory and terrace; play area
Site type
Tourist board rating
Languages spoken
English
Nearby sites that are bookable on Pitchup.com
Unfortunately, we have no nearby bookable sites.
Want to know more about camping in Cornwall?
Features
Leisure on site
Bar or club house Cycle hire Evening entertainment Fishing Fitness centre Games room Indoor swimming pool Kids' club On-site restaurant/cafe Outdoor swimming pool Play area TV room Take away Tennis WatersportsAmenities on site
Bath available Composting toilet Dog park Drying room Food shop Free wifi Ice pack freezing Internet access Launderette Parent & baby washroom Pick-up from public transport Portable toilet Pub toilets Public telephone Shower available Toilet block Washing-up area WifiGroups welcome
Family friendly Motorcycle friendly Single-sex groups welcome Student groups welcomeRules
Barbecue provided Barbecues allowed Campfires allowed Commercial vehicles allowed Dogs allowed Dogs allowed all yearThemes
Peaceful Spectacular scenery Walkers' paradiseUtilities
Charging facilities Chemical disposal Electric car charging point(s) Gas cylinders available Recycling available Renewable energyNearby amenities
Bar nearby Dog walk nearby Public transport nearby Shop nearbyType
Large (51-200 pitches)Nearby leisure
Canoeing/kayaking nearby Climbing nearby Cycle hire nearby Cycling nearby Fishing nearby Golf nearby Horse riding nearby Indoor pool nearby Leisure/theme park nearby Mountain biking nearby Outdoor pool nearby Restaurant nearby Sailing nearby Surf school nearby Tennis nearby Watersports nearbyTouring and motorhomes
Seasonal pitchesLocation
Trekenning Tourist Park
Trekenning
Newquay
Cornwall
England
TR8 4JF
Timezone
Europe/London BST (GMT+01:00)
GPS
50.42165°N
4.94181°W
Nearest transport
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Local attractions
Water quality at nearby bathing waters
Name | Distance | Type | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Watergate Bay | 4.7 mi | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Porth | 5.1 mi | Sea | Good | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Mawgan Porth | 5.1 mi | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Lusty Glaze | 5.4 mi | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Tolcarne | 5.8 mi | Sea | N/A | Excellent | Excellent | Excellent |
Data source: European Environment Agency
Must see
Cornwall's Crealy Great Adventure Park 4.7 mi
Newquay Zoo 5.7 mi
Lappa Valley Steam Railway 5.9 mi
Blue Reef Aquarium 6.2 mi
Fistral Beach 6.8 mi
National Trust
Trerice 5 mi
Carnewas and Bedruthan Steps 5.5 mi
Trelissick Garden 14.7 mi
Tintagel Old Post Office 18.6 mi
St Anthony Head 18.9 mi
Cycle routes
Find local routes on the National Cycle Network - over 12,000 miles of cycling routes.
Other
Bedruthen Steps and Park Head 5.7 mi
Newquay - River Gannel - Crantock - Polly Joke - Newquay 6 mi
Wadebridge Woods and River 8 mi
Padstow and the South-West Coast Path 8.2 mi
PRIDEAUX PLACE 8.3 mi
Please note: All distances on this page are calculated "as the crow flies" - please check actual distance depending on your mode of travel using the Get directions button above.
Reviews
56% would recommend this site to a friend
44% would stay here again
What customers say
This park offers a convenient location near Newquay and a shopping outlet, with secure entry and reliable electric hookups. Pods are praised for cleanliness and amenities like BBQs, while barn conversions boast stylish furnishings. Facilities, including toilets and showers, are generally good. However, some guests found the site run-down, experienced issues with outdated information, and reported a lack of Wi-Fi. Concerns were also raised about unheated pools and the condition of older caravans.
Summary AI-generated from Pitchup.com customer reviews




















Fantastic
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked Well what can I say, from start to finish it was a pure joy to be there , we arrived by 10.30 am and check in was 2 but the owner said we could go on our site straight away, she gave us a choice of pitches, and personally gave us a tour of the whole site by foot explaining everything about it, we felt like we where having a royal welcome😍 the site is mainly residents but please don't let put u off as they couldn't of been anymore welcoming and went out of there way to say hello or help us out, one gave us a lift to the shops and another helped us get taxis, one gentleman even gave us some of his home made pasties, the pool is beautiful and the club house was very cheap and friendly, we really couldn't of asked for anymore, well done guys and we will see you very soon xx
Disliked Not a dislike as such but just an idea, music round the pool when sunny would be lovely
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Hi Paula
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was absolutely wonderful and a pleasure to host your stay on site. We look forwards to seeing you again in the future.
Very friendly. Pool was great. Showers good, hot…
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked Very friendly.
Pool was great.
Showers good, hot and clean.
Disliked On our booking it said gravel and grass pitct (photos shown a pitch with hard standing and grass strip too)we appeared to have the only touring pitch on the site! As all other pitches were people who were residents and had quite a set up all around them around their caravans!
We were right by the lifting barrier and main road. We had just over a metre on hard stone to put our table and chairs and dog bed; no grass ( well some at the back on slope where we put a washing line)
Just don’t think the sales pitch matches what we got!
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you felt your experience did not fully meet expectations.
For clarity, Pitch A15 is 9m x 8m, and although the caravan positioning reduced available space, we chose not to request a move given the difficulties you experienced on arrival.
Our site offers one of the most competitive rates in the area, with facilities including an outdoor pool, bar, children’s play park, dog-walking field, shower and laundry facilities, and free inclusion of pets and electric.
We were also surprised by the lower scores for cleanliness and WiFi, as our facilities are maintained to a high standard as mentioned in your review and free Starlink internet (150mbps+) is available at the bar.
We do, however, appreciate all feedback and will continue to use it to ensure our guests enjoy the best possible stay.
I would not recommend this site…
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked I would not recommend this site to anyone, whether for a holiday or a permanent pitch. The facilities are in a disgraceful condition: the toilets are filthy, the chemical waste disposal is unhygienic, and the washing-up area and pool are poorly maintained.
The site itself feels neglected and unwelcoming. Many of the caravans are permanent residences, with overgrown pitches, ripped awnings, and even car engines being worked on around the site. There is only one pitch for tourists, and it feels like you’re staying in the middle of someone’s untidy garden rather than a proper holiday park.
The management is also very poor. Issues are not dealt with, and the site lacks any sense of organisation or care for visitors.
If you are looking for a pleasant holiday or a clean, well-managed permanent pitch, I strongly advise staying well away from this place.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Dear Keith,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are disappointed to see that your review does not reflect the experience observed during your two-week stay, where you appeared to enjoy both the pool and our facilities.
As a gesture of goodwill, you were also provided with complimentary early access to your pitch due to difficulties at a previous campsite.
We must also note several inaccuracies in your photographic documentation, as well as the omission of the severe weather conditions experienced during your stay. Some of the images provided appear to have been selectively staged, such as the photograph of the tourist information leaflet holder while cleaning was in progress in the launderette.
Following your departure, we received a series of complaints from you, including threats and defamatory remarks regarding other guests, along with the warning that you would leave a negative review if a full refund was not granted for your stay.
Our seasonal pitches remain in very high demand, with a waiting list of several years. These pitches are held on an annual basis, and it is the responsibility of each pitch holder to maintain both their pitch and caravan. This could have been clarified for you had you raised your concerns with management during your visit, rather than afterwards.
It is unfortunate that, as a business, we cannot publish our own photographic evidence in response to misleading or defamatory reviews.
Fine for a night or two
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked Close to Newquay.
Close to Shopping outlet.
Secure barrier for entry/exit.
Reliable electric hookup.
Drinking water and waste disposal.
Disliked Quite run down.
Recommend to friends Visit again
Toilet and shower facilities good.…
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked Toilet and shower facilities good.
Disliked Bar only open on Friday night though booking confirmation stated Friday and Saturday. Wrong gate passcode provided on confirmation email, luckily a resident agreed to help as no one answered phone in reception at 5pm. photos on website very out of date, only 3 touring pitches. Not very welcoming.
Recommend to friends Visit again
From the manager: Hi Dee,
Thank you for your review,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay whilst onsite,
However, from reviewing the CCTV footage both of the barrier and the office, you did not arrive until 17:20 which is after the office is unmanned and does state this on pitchup and no telephone call was made to the office around this time.
On arrival you did not attend reception to make us aware of your presence so we were unaware that you had arrived until seeing your motorhome parked up on the pitch the following day and unfortunately we did not see you on the Friday or Saturday either so were unable to provide you with the holiday pack which had up to date information in it.
The barrier code you were provided with is the correct code for the barrier for holidaymakers. We are unsure why this did not work for you on this occasion, but it is the correct code. If you had rung the 'Call' button it would have rung us and we could have let you in and welcomed you to the site.
We hope you will try us again in the future,
The overall standard of the furnishings…
Woodpecker 2 bedroom static caravan
Liked The overall standard of the furnishings in the barn conversion.
The free upgrade.
Disliked How dark outside the barn was.
Spiral staircase felt unsafe.
Recommend to friends Visit again
The park was very nice the…
Woodpecker 2 bedroom static caravan
Liked The park was very nice the pools kept the kids happy and staff were friendly and helpful
Recommend to friends Visit again
Excellent clean facilities and lovely pool
Electric grass and gravel touring pitch (sloping)
Liked Nice friendly site
Recommend to friends Visit again
Our pod was brilliant, so clean,…
Camping pod
Liked Our pod was brilliant, so clean, tidy and had all the conveniences we needed- we particularly loved the bbq. The swimming pool was also lovely! The staff were so welcoming and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again!
Disliked Did not affect us but there was no wifi on site during our stay.
Recommend to friends Visit again
Great stay with most facilities
Camping pod
Liked The modern look, comfortable and nice looking interior, lovely patio, all necessary equipment provided inc a bbq, play area for kids
Disliked A washing liquid would be a plus or perhaps we should have brought it.
No WiFi
Recommend to friends Visit again
Frequently asked questions
- Does Trekenning Tourist Park have a swimming pool? Yes View all features
- Is Trekenning Tourist Park dog friendly? No View all features
- What attractions are near Trekenning Tourist Park? If you've come to Cornwall to surf, you're in the right spot. Newquay, less than five miles away, is one of the best-known surf beaches in Britain, home to surf schools and … Read more
- When can I check in and check out of Trekenning Tourist Park?
Camping and touring Arrive: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m. Depart by: 10 a.m. On-site accommodation Arrive: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m. Depart by: 10 a.m.